03ProjectsOxford County

Oxford County · Project

808 Dundas: from purchase to an operating support centre

Money & projects Explore sections
Oxford County project

At a glance

Location
Woodstock · 808 Dundas Street, Woodstock
Responsible authority
Oxford County
Current stage
Property acquired; spring 2028 opening remains a targetAs of 2026-10-01
2026 allocation
Not established
Next target
2028-04 · Centre opening target

The County bought the property for $4.55 million. Renovation and operation are separate commitments.

Planned 55-bed, continuously staffed homelessness support centre with support services; separate from the HART Hub.

Who approves and delivers this project?

Owner and homelessness service lead

Oxford County

Responsible for acquisition, renovation procurement and the service-delivery arrangements.

Open the source record
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

    Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

    Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

Funding and local partner

City of Woodstock

Building Faster Fund contribution and local coordination; does not make the City the County project owner.

Open the source record
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

    Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

    Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

Money

Project money

Budget and forecast

Cost forecast
$7,800,000

Other financial measures

Property acquisition price
$4,550,000
Included in the capital forecast, not additional to it.
Estimated annual operating cost
$2,400,000
A recurring annual estimate, separate from capital.

Latest spending total not published here.

CAD · Tax treatment not specified in release · Forecast is approximate total capital cost, including the $4.55 million acquisition and $3.25 million renovation, legal and administrative costs. Estimated $2.4 million annual operation is separate.
Sources for these figures · 4
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timelineTimeline; Background — Process and Costs
  2. 2025 audited financial statements — subsequent property acquisitionNote 20, Significant Event; printed p20 (PDF p22)
  3. Homelessness Support Centre — September engagement updateSeptember 21 update and July 17 public meeting update
  4. May 27 Council preview — 808 Dundas design servicesContract award for renovation work; PW 2026-19
4 source records
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

    Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

    Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

  2. 2025 audited financial statements — subsequent property acquisition Note 20, Significant Event; printed p20 (PDF p22)

    Oxford County · Published 2026-06-10 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025

    audited · Primary record verified · Subsequent event: May 29, 2026 purchase of 808 Dundas for $4,550,000. This transaction is not 2025 spending.

  3. Homelessness Support Centre — September engagement update September 21 update and July 17 public meeting update

    Oxford County · Published 2026-09-21 · Event/reporting date 2026-09-21 · 2026

    official project update; September 23 Council disposition not extracted · Primary record verified · Opened complete public project page. September update identifies tendering as next step and retains spring 2028 opening target. Do not label tendering complete or infer a revised opening date; spring 2028 was already in the June announcement.

  4. May 27 Council preview — 808 Dundas design services Contract award for renovation work; PW 2026-19

    Oxford County · Published 2026-05-25 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-25 · 2026

    staff recommendation described in official agenda preview · Primary record verified · Council minutes link is in manifest, but minutes attachment could not be opened. The article says Council is being asked to approve; no award inferred.

Where the funding comes from

$7,800,000Listed funding total

  1. County housing reserve fundsUp to this amount; published project financing plan.
    $5,550,00071.2% of listed total
  2. Woodstock Building Faster FundCity contribution to the County project.
    $2,050,00026.3% of listed total
  3. Federal Safe Restart fundPublished project financing plan.
    $200,0002.6% of listed total
Listed funding adds to the forecast amount. CAD.
Sources for these figures · 4
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timelineTimeline; Background — Process and Costs
  2. 2025 audited financial statements — subsequent property acquisitionNote 20, Significant Event; printed p20 (PDF p22)
  3. Homelessness Support Centre — September engagement updateSeptember 21 update and July 17 public meeting update
  4. May 27 Council preview — 808 Dundas design servicesContract award for renovation work; PW 2026-19

Timeline

  1. approval

    Conditional offer authorized

    Council authorized an offer up to $5 million, conditional on funding and other items. This was not a whole-project budget.

    Open the source record
    1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

      Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

      Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

  2. approval

    Property purchase approved

    Official County timeline records Council approval at $4.55 million.

    Open the source record
    1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

      Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

      Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

  3. recommendation

    Design contract proposed

    Up to $250,000 for JPM Architecture; Council disposition not extracted.

    Open the source record
    1. May 27 Council preview — 808 Dundas design services Contract award for renovation work; PW 2026-19

      Oxford County · Published 2026-05-25 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-25 · 2026

      staff recommendation described in official agenda preview · Primary record verified · Council minutes link is in manifest, but minutes attachment could not be opened. The article says Council is being asked to approve; no award inferred.

  4. completion

    Acquisition closed

    Property transferred to Oxford County. Acquisition completion does not mean the centre is operating.

    2 source records
    1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

      Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

      Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

    2. 2025 audited financial statements — subsequent property acquisition Note 20, Significant Event; printed p20 (PDF p22)

      Oxford County · Published 2026-06-10 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025

      audited · Primary record verified · Subsequent event: May 29, 2026 purchase of 808 Dundas for $4,550,000. This transaction is not 2025 spending.

  5. consultation

    Public information meeting held

    County held a meeting about operations, safety and neighbourhood questions.

    Open the source record
    1. Homelessness Support Centre — September engagement update September 21 update and July 17 public meeting update

      Oxford County · Published 2026-09-21 · Event/reporting date 2026-09-21 · 2026

      official project update; September 23 Council disposition not extracted · Primary record verified · Opened complete public project page. September update identifies tendering as next step and retains spring 2028 opening target. Do not label tendering complete or infer a revised opening date; spring 2028 was already in the June announcement.

  6. update

    Engagement feedback published

    Tendering identified as the next renovation step; spring 2028 remains the opening target.

    Open the source record
    1. Homelessness Support Centre — September engagement update September 21 update and July 17 public meeting update

      Oxford County · Published 2026-09-21 · Event/reporting date 2026-09-21 · 2026

      official project update; September 23 Council disposition not extracted · Primary record verified · Opened complete public project page. September update identifies tendering as next step and retains spring 2028 opening target. Do not label tendering complete or infer a revised opening date; spring 2028 was already in the June announcement.

  7. original target

    Centre opening target

    June 1 release targets spring/April 2028; subsequent stages are estimates.

    Open the source record
    1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

      Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

      Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

Contracts

PW 2026-19 · staff recommendation; Council disposition not extracted

808 Dundas architectural design services

Awardee not established

Published bid
Not established
Published award / contract value
Not established
Unit price
Not established

Not specified in opened official preview

Recommended ceiling is up to $250,000; no signed-contract, award or payment conclusion.

Open the source record
  1. May 27 Council preview — 808 Dundas design services Contract award for renovation work; PW 2026-19

    Oxford County · Published 2026-05-25 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-25 · 2026

    staff recommendation described in official agenda preview · Primary record verified · Council minutes link is in manifest, but minutes attachment could not be opened. The article says Council is being asked to approve; no award inferred.

Open procurement record

Decisions

2025-12-10 · Oxford County Council

808 Dundas conditional offer authorized

County confirms Council authorized staff to submit an offer, conditional on funding and administrative requirements.

$5,000,000 · Maximum conditional offer authorization; not final price or total project budget

Consequence: County ownership enables the proposed support centre; capital renovation and service operation require their own delivery evidence.

Open the source record
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

    Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

    Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

2026-04-22 · Oxford County Council

808 Dundas property purchase approved

Official County timeline confirms Council approved the purchase; the acquisition closed May 29.

$4,550,000 · Property acquisition price; excludes renovation and operation

Consequence: County ownership enables the proposed support centre; capital renovation and service operation require their own delivery evidence.

Open the source record
  1. New Homelessness Support Centre — purchase, costs and timeline Timeline; Background — Process and Costs

    Oxford County · Published 2026-06-01 · Event/reporting date 2026-05-29 · 2025 authorization; 2026 acquisition; proposed delivery through 2028

    Official confirmation of purchase approval and completed acquisition; later delivery dates estimated · Primary record verified · Acquisition, estimated capital costs and annual operating costs have distinct scopes. The centre and HART Hub are separate projects.

Outcomes

Property acquisition is confirmed. An operating centre, delivered bed capacity and housing outcomes are not yet established.

Questions

  • What is the current approved renovation budget and awarded contract?
  • Which agency will operate the centre, and how will the annual operating estimate be funded?
  • What milestones and neighbourhood commitments will be reported before opening?

Related issues

What has been funded, who will operate the centre, and how will residents know it is working?Why was this site chosen, and what must the support centre deliver?What will the City, County and health partners each deliver—and how will residents know?
Scope & interpretation notes
  • The $4.55 million acquisition price is confirmed, but no full-project actual expenditure series has been extracted. The capital estimate and annual operating estimate must not be added into a single project total.
Make sense of the money

Your taxes called. They’d like a receipt.

Budget
Planned costs for a stated year or project.
Annual allocation
Funding assigned for one year. It may be part of a larger project.
Lifetime project budget
The stated budget for the full project across its years.
Forecast
An estimate of the eventual cost, as of the date shown.
Tax requirement (levy)
The amount to raise from property taxes, after other funding.
Contract award
The accepted contract price, with its stated tax and scope.
Recorded costs or payments
Amounts reported for the period shown. They do not establish project completion.

Why are there different County totals?

The detailed 2026 budget lists $279,035,275 in operating expenses and $127,855,640 in financed capital: $406,890,915 combined. The $103,039,171 property-tax requirement is a different measure, after other funding.

The budget hub retains an earlier $406.1 million headline. Spending explanations here use the detailed approved schedule.

Detailed approved budget ↗ · County budget hub ↗

Open the full money explanation